Cover art for podcast The K12 Engineering Education Podcast

The K12 Engineering Education Podcast

84 EpisodesProduced by Pios LabsWebsite

Promoting education in engineering and design for all ages. Learn more and read transcripts at www.k12engineering.net. Produced by Pius Wong, engineer, of Pios Labs (www.pioslabs.com). This podcast is for educators, engineers, entrepreneurs, and parents interested in bringing engineering to younger… read more

25:06

Data Visualization Tips and Tricks

How can we deal with data better? How can we teach kids to deal with data better? Sarah Morris from the nonprofit Nuclear Learning Network has some answers. She educates students and the general population on better data visualization, or dataviz, and how to use modern tools for dataviz.

Related to this episode:
• The Nucleus Learning Network: http://www.nucleuslearningnetwork.org/
• Art Science Gallery in Austin, TX: http://www.artsciencegallery.com/
• DataViz example at The Nucleus Learning Network: http://www.nucleuslearningnetwork.org/datavis/
• Social Explorer (mapping tool): http://www.socialexplorer.com/
• RAW (chart-building tool): http://rawgraphs.io/
• The Law & Order Database: https://www.overthinkingit.com/2012/11/13/the-law-and-order-database-all-20-seasons/
• Tips on using the Excel chart recommender: http://www.k2e.com/tech-update/tips/689-tips-using-recommended-charts-in-excel
• Periodic Table of Visualization: http://www.visual-literacy.org/periodic_table/periodic_table.html
• Chart Juice: http://labs.juiceanalytics.com/chartchooser/index.html
• The Guardian data visualization: https://www.theguardian.com/technology/data-visualisation

Our closing music is from "Late for School" by Bleeptor, used under a Creative Commons Attribution License: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0. Subscribe and find more podcast information at: http://www.k12engineering.net. The K12 Engineering Education Podcast is a production of Pios Labs: http://www.pioslabs.com.

Check out the book and ebook “Engineer’s Guide to Improv and Art Games” by Pius Wong, on Amazon, Apple iBooks, and other retailers: http://www.pioslabs.com/improv4design.html

Listen to The K12 Engineering Education Podcast

RadioPublic

A free podcast app for iPhone and Android

  • User-created playlists and collections
  • Download episodes while on WiFi to listen without using mobile data
  • Stream podcast episodes without waiting for a download
  • Queue episodes to create a personal continuous playlist
RadioPublic on iOS and Android
Or by RSS
RSS feed
http://feeds.soundcloud.com/users/soundcloud:users:217781916/sounds.rss