The Gateway: Teal Swan

7 EpisodesProduced by Gizmodo

The Gateway is a six-part series about Teal Swan, a new brand of spiritual guru, who draws in followers with her hypnotic self-help YouTube videos aimed at people who are struggling with depression and suicidal thoughts. Some followers move to Teal’s healing center, a spiritual startup where they pr… read more

episodes iconEpisodes

Introducing The Gateway

May 21st, 2018

Follow Gizmodo reporter Jennings Brown as he investigates an internet spiritual guru, named Teal Swan, and the deaths of some of her followers. The …

Part 1: Catalyst

May 30th, 2018

In April 2017 YouTube recommended reporter Jennings Brown watch a self-help video from Teal Swan, a spiritual guru with a global online following. …

Part 2: Origins

June 6th, 2018

Jennings travels to Utah, where Teal grew up and began her spiritual career. He learns more about the upbringing that shaped her teachings on …

Part 3: Philia

June 13th, 2018

Jennings meets Teal at her retreat center in Costa Rica. He spends a week there, observing her therapy methods and getting to know some of the people who leave their lives behind to live with Teal and run her spiritual …

Part 4: Tribe

June 20th, 2018


Part 5: Memories

June 27th, 2018


Part 6: Shadows

July 4th, 2018

Loading ...

Download the RadioPublic app for
 FREE and never miss an episode.

Get it on Google PlayDownload on the App Store