Cover art for podcast The Devolution of the Species

The Devolution of the Species

3 EpisodesProduced by Abe, Cam & GeorgeWebsite

The uninquisitive Syms Covington, Darwin's servant, recalls the HMS Beagle's historical second voyage concentrating on all the wrong details.

23:00

Episode 3 - Festive Water Buckets

After arriving at Bahia in Brazil, Captain FitzRoy reacquaints himself with an old college friend, who enrages Darwin by introducing them to a local slave owner. During their stay the crew unwittingly discover the dangers of the local carnival, get lost in a jungle, and conduct a very flawed survey.

The Devolution of the Species was created by Cameron Gray, Abraham de Cugnac and George Corrigan.

Written and directed by Abraham de Cugnac: http://abrahamdecugnac.co.uk

Written and produced by Cameron Gray: https://www.scriptrevolution.com/profiles/cam-gray

With Original music by Matthew McCracken

Syms Covington was played by Christopher Adams: www.christopheradams.co.uk

Captain Robert FitzRoy by Ross Kernahan: https://www.spotlight.com/cv/1891-3494-5290

Charles Darwin By Rupert Sadler: https://www.spotlight.com/interactive/cv/0932-7839-1257

Doctor Robert McCormick by Freddie O'Donohoe

Lieutenant Wickham by Richard Brabin: http://www.richardbrabin.com

Captain Charles Paget by Joseph Blunt: https://www.spotlight.com/cv/0351-1274-4175

Alexander Derbishire by Johny Gill: https://www.spotlight.com/6612-8949-5448

Arthur Mellersh by Richard Elliot: https://www.spotlight.com/0219-5613-9376

Lucy Griffiths by Maggie Barnard: https://www.maggiebarnard.com/

Oyuwa by Ashraf Khalifa: http://www.ashrafkhalifa.co.uk

Fruit Merchant by Eduardo Lins

Local Girl by Cristina Noguera: https://www.scriptrevolution.com/profiles/cristina-noguera

This episode was recorded by Dax Liniere at Puzzle Factory Sound Studio: http://www.puzzlefactory.uk

Educational emoji reaction

Educational

Interesting emoji reaction

Interesting

Funny emoji reaction

Funny

Agree emoji reaction

Agree

Love emoji reaction

Love

Wow emoji reaction

Wow

Are you the creator of this podcast?

Verify your account

and pick the featured episodes for your show.

Listen to The Devolution of the Species

RadioPublic

A free podcast app for iPhone and Android

  • User-created playlists and collections
  • Download episodes while on WiFi to listen without using mobile data
  • Stream podcast episodes without waiting for a download
  • Queue episodes to create a personal continuous playlist
RadioPublic on iOS and Android
Or by RSS
RSS feed
https://anchor.fm/s/103086d4/podcast/rss

Connect with listeners

Podcasters use the RadioPublic listener relationship platform to build lasting connections with fans

Yes, let's begin connecting
Browser window

Find new listeners

  • A dedicated website for your podcast
  • Web embed players designed to convert visitors to listeners in the RadioPublic apps for iPhone and Android
Clicking mouse cursor

Understand your audience

  • Capture listener activity with affinity scores
  • Measure your promotional campaigns and integrate with Google and Facebook analytics
Graph of increasing value

Engage your fanbase

  • Deliver timely Calls To Action, including email acquistion for your mailing list
  • Share exactly the right moment in an episode via text, email, and social media
Icon of cellphone with money

Make money

  • Tip and transfer funds directly to podcastsers
  • Earn money for qualified plays in the RadioPublic apps with Paid Listens