27 EpisodesProduced by WDIV Local 4 and Graham Media Group

Sometimes, news stories echo in our minds for years after they’ve occurred. With each season of Shattered, we select one of those complex, true stories and take an in-depth look.Season 3 tells the story of a string of murders that took place in the mid-1970s in Oakland County, Michigan. Many people … read more

27 Episodes | 2018 - 2019

Black Friday, Chapter 12 – Getting to the Point

April 15th, 2018

Season 1, Chapter 12: Tanner, Alexander and Andrew Skelton’s whereabouts continue to be a mystery.  Their father, John has kept the information needed to crack the case locked up inside his head, but now he’s talking.  …

Black Friday, Chapter 11 – Inmate #812593

April 15th, 2018

Season 1, Chapter 11: After the exchange of letters, a visit to the prison and many emails, John Skelton calls us on the phone.  The public will hear John’s words in his own voice for the first time in several years.  …

Black Friday, Chapter 10 – Dear John

April 15th, 2018

Season 1, Chapter 10: John Skelton has been silent for the better part of a decade. WDIV’s Sandra Ali and Jeremy Allen do their best to get him to …

Black Friday, Chapter 9 – Missoula, Montana

April 15th, 2018

Season 1: Chapter 9: As investigators work the Skelton case in Michigan, something pops up, but way off their radar.  Human remains are found in …

Black Friday, Chapter 8 – Southern Discomfort

April 15th, 2018

Season 1, Chapter 8: John Skelton’s family in Morenci stays tight-lipped about the case.  His mother, father and sister live a thousand miles away in Florida.  Jeremy Allen heads to Jacksonville, seeking a perspective …

Black Friday, Chapter 7 – Holiday Road

April 15th, 2018

Season 1, Chapter 7: Early morning, Black Friday, 2010, John Skelton's cell phone registers to cell phone towers between Morenci, Michigan and …

Black Friday, Chapter 6 – A Simpler Story

April 15th, 2018

Season 1, Chapter 6: John Skelton's stories change every time he tells them. One that has been told, more than once, is that he gave his children to …

Black Friday, Chapter 5 – Me, Myself and John

April 15th, 2018

Season 1, Chapter 5: With his three sons missing, John sits inside a Michigan prison cell. He doesn't seem worried, but he also doesn't seem to feel guilty. Hear John tell his story, for the first time, in his own words.

Black Friday, Chapter 4 – A Family Thing

April 15th, 2018

Season 1, Chapter 4: We’re welcomed into the home of Tanya Skelton. We get into the alleged abuse of her own sons and John's family’s take on what he did or didn’t do. Tanya also reveals what built her back up after an …

Black Friday, Chapter 3 – Maze Runners

April 15th, 2018

Season 1, Chapter 3: John Skelton sits alone in a cell, with all the answers locked away deep inside his mind. Chief Larry Weeks and Detective Lt. Jeremy Brewer are the past and present lead investigators on the case. …

Black Friday, Chapter 2 – Irreversible

April 15th, 2018

Season 1, Chapter 2: Andrew, Alexander and Tanner are missing. But before their dad, John, made them vanish, a storm was brewing between him and his wife, Tanya. Tanya gives us a glimpse into life with John before Black …

Black Friday, Chapter 1 – Shattered

April 15th, 2018

Season 1, Chapter 1: The Skeltons, a family of 5, once whole and together has been shattered. John, the father, begins acting erratically and …

~~Introducing Shattered, Season 1 – Black Friday~~

April 15th, 2018

Welcome to Shattered, a new true-crime podcast from WDIV in Detroit. Season 1 chronicles the young Skelton brothers’ disappearance on Black Friday, 2010. The mystery of what happened to the boys remains open, with their …

White Boy Rick, Chapter 8 – Just Call Me Rick

September 6th, 2018

Chapter 8 – Just Call Me Rick 
With Hollywood making a movie about his life and some positive signs coming from the new Wayne County Prosecutor, Rick …

White Boy Rick, Chapter 7 – Kid Rock and White Boy Rick

September 6th, 2018

Chapter 7 – Kid Rock and White Boy Rick: Rick is granted his first parole hearing in 15 years. Kid Rock shows up to testify on his behalf. Rick …

White Boy Rick, Chapter 6 – Inspector Todd

September 6th, 2018

Chapter 6 – Inspector Todd: Rick says the reason he’s been languishing in prison for so long has a lot to do with one man, Gil Hill. Hill was the …

White Boy Rick, Chapter 5 – Operation Backbone

September 6th, 2018


White Boy Rick, Chapter 4 – I’m No Cocaine Kingpin

September 6th, 2018

Chapter 4 – I’m No Cocaine Kingpin: Rick has given the feds enough information for them to start prosecuting the Curry’s. Out of a job, Rick charts a …

White Boy Rick, Chapter 3 – Fight Night in Vegas

September 6th, 2018

Chapter 3 – Fight Night in Vegas: When the police keep raiding drug houses rife with cash and cocaine, the Currys don’t think it’s simply bad luck …

White Boy Rick, Chapter 2 – Summer Job

September 6th, 2018

Chapter 2 – Summer Job: To get inside information on the local drug trade, Rick has to do more than watch from the outside. But it’s not as simple as just heading up to the local crack house with cash in hand. He needs …

White Boy Rick, Chapter 1 – Like Father, Like Son

September 6th, 2018

Chapter 1 – Like Father, Like Son: In 1984, crack cocaine is becoming an epidemic in Detroit. Several African-American drug gangs are battling each other for territory. On the east side of the city, a white teenager is …

Introducing Shattered, Season 2 – White Boy Rick

September 7th, 2018

Welcome to Season 2 of Shattered. When he was 14 years-old, Rick Wershe, Jr. became one of the youngest FBI informants in American history. The …

Introducing Shattered: Season 3

December 27th, 2018

Jeremy Allen, host of season 1, is joined by Kevin Dietz, host of season 2, to announce the subject of Shattered: Season 3 coming in 2019.
Follow us …

Shattered Presents: Mismatch

January 3rd, 2019

As we prepare for the release of Shattered’s Season 3, we’re excited to share one of our favorite stories from the new season of our another podcast from Graham Media, Mismatch.

Hosted by veteran reporter Roger Weber, …

Shattered Presents: Crimetown

January 10th, 2019

We're hard at work on our next season of Shattered. In the meantime, though, we think you'll like this episode of another show we're fans of. 

Coming Soon: Child Killer

February 12th, 2019

In Season 3 of Shattered, host Jeremy Allen is back to tell the story of a string of murders that took place in the mid-1970s in Oakland County, Michigan. Many people know the case as the Oakland County Child Killer. …

Child Killer, Chapter 1 - The Beginning of the End

March 19th, 2019

Shattered Season 3, Child Killer, Episode 1. By 1976, Detroit’s population had plummeted as residents left for the suburbs in droves. The wealthiest, …
Loading ...

Download the RadioPublic app for
 FREE and never miss an episode.

Get it on Google PlayDownload on the App Store