Cover art for podcast New York Said

New York Said

209 EpisodesProduced by New YorkWebsite

Teacher, sales associate, officer, tobacconist, rebel, MTA worker, artist, drifter - who? These are the people in your neighborhood. Hosted by Amon Focus, the New York Said podcast features in-depth artful conversations with people you don't often hear from, to hear things that aren't often shared (… read more

56:42

Jeff Staple - 20 Years of Staple Design, Reed Space and the Nike "Pigeon" Dunk SB Low

Today’s guest on the show is Jeff Staple, Founder and Creative Director of Staple Design and Reed Space.

In this episode we talk about 20 years of Staple Design, The Fader, superstition, Nike "Pigeon" Dunk SB Low, poker, Jeff’s 1-2-1 Series, the term Streetwear Ambassador and much much more.

Please… enjoy.

--

More Information about Jeff Staple

Staple Design - http://www.stapledesign.com/

Staple Pigeon - https://www.staplepigeon.com/

Reed Space - http://thereedspace.com/

Skillshare - https://www.skillshare.com/jeffstaple

Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/jeffstaple/?hl=en

Twitter - https://twitter.com/jeffstaple

--
Links to the Stuff they Talked About

Shep Gordon - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shep_Gordon

KAWS X Nike Basketball Court - http://www.highsnobiety.com/2016/11/09/nike-basketball-courts-kaws-nyc/

The Fader - http://gwarizm.com/2011/02/06/the-faders-early-days-some-other-stuff/

The Fader (Video) - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5PPW85n1EQ0

Nike "Pigeon" Dunk SB Low - http://www.flightclub.com/nike-dunk-low-pro-sb-medium-grey-white-dark-grey-080016

The Nike "Pigeon" Dunk Riot (Film) - http://www.complex.com/sneakers/2015/02/nike-sb-pigeon-dunk-sneaker-riot-documentary

Flight Club - http://www.flightclub.com/

Marcus Tayui - http://kicksdeals.com/gallery/15-people-behind-the-scenes-who-changed-sneakers-forever/marcus-tayui/

Hiroshi Fujiwara - http://www.gq.com/story/hiroki-fujiwara-interview-nike-fragment

Andy Warhol - http://www.warhol.org/

Jon Cohen & Rob Stone - http://www.thefader.com/2015/09/30/rob-stone-jon-cohen-fader-founders

KIDS (film) - http://www.rollingstone.com/movies/news/kids-the-oral-history-of-the-most-controversial-film-of-the-nineties-20150716

Beck - http://www.beck.com/

Yasiin Bey (Mos Def) - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mos_Def

Erykah Badu - http://erykah-badu.com

FAILE - http://faile.net/

1-2-1 feat. Mike Tyson (Ep 1) - https://vimeo.com/47871992

1-2-1 feat. Mike Tyson (Ep 2) - https://vimeo.com/49363736

1-2-1 feat. Mike Tyson (Ep 3) - https://vimeo.com/56866571

1-2-1 feat. Mike Tyson (Ep 4) - https://vimeo.com/57578390

1-2-1 feat. Black Thought - https://vimeo.com/170969982

1-2-1 feat. Daniel Kasidi / Rastaclat - https://vimeo.com/142903165

1-2-1 feat. COMMON - https://vimeo.com/101933621

1-2-1 feat. RZA (Part 1) - https://vimeo.com/40181893

1-2-1 feat. RZA (Part 2) - https://vimeo.com/40185425

Futura - https://www.instagram.com/futuradosmil/?hl=en

Bono - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bono

Marc Eckō - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marc_Ecko

The Shirt Kings - http://www.the-other.info/2014/shirtkings

Shokunin - http://www.realtyninja.com/blog/the-mastery-of-ones-profession/

Handmade Portraits: The Sword Maker - https://vimeo.com/32113233

5th Platoon - http://www.cratekings.com/dj-neil-armstrongs-5th-platoon-memories/

DJ Neil Armstrong - https://djneilarmstrong.com/

A-Trak - http://atrak.com/

Angelo Baque - http://www.complex.com/style/2016/05/supreme-angelo-baque-defends-brand-customer-service

Tramps - http://streetsyoucrossed.blogspot.com/2010/12/tramps-like-them.html

Wetlands - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wetlands_Preserve

Saul Williams - http://saulwilliams.com/

Avant Yard - https://myspace.com/avantyard/photos

Nuyorican Poets Cafe - http://www.nuyorican.org/

Malcolm-Jamal Warner - http://www.malcolmjamalwarner.com/

Rawkus - http://www.complex.com/music/2012/08/the-50-best-rawkus-records-songs/

Mos Def & Talib Kweli Are Black Star - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mos_Def_%26_Talib_Kweli_Are_Black_Star

Shabaam Sahdeeq - http://www.shabaam-sahdeeq.com/interviews.php

Common - One-Nine-Nine-Nine: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/One-Nine-Nine-Nine

Soundbombing - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Soundbombing_II

This episode is sponsored by Gorilla Coffee.

Educational emoji reaction

Educational

Interesting emoji reaction

Interesting

Funny emoji reaction

Funny

Agree emoji reaction

Agree

Love emoji reaction

Love

Wow emoji reaction

Wow

Listen to New York Said

RadioPublic

A free podcast app for iPhone and Android

  • User-created playlists and collections
  • Download episodes while on WiFi to listen without using mobile data
  • Stream podcast episodes without waiting for a download
  • Queue episodes to create a personal continuous playlist
RadioPublic on iOS and Android
Or by RSS
RSS feed
https://newyorksaid.libsyn.com/radiopublic

Connect with listeners

Podcasters use the RadioPublic listener relationship platform to build lasting connections with fans

Yes, let's begin connecting
Browser window

Find new listeners

  • A dedicated website for your podcast
  • Web embed players designed to convert visitors to listeners in the RadioPublic apps for iPhone and Android
Clicking mouse cursor

Understand your audience

  • Capture listener activity with affinity scores
  • Measure your promotional campaigns and integrate with Google and Facebook analytics
Graph of increasing value

Engage your fanbase

  • Deliver timely Calls To Action, including email acquistion for your mailing list
  • Share exactly the right moment in an episode via text, email, and social media
Icon of cellphone with money

Make money

  • Tip and transfer funds directly to podcastsers
  • Earn money for qualified plays in the RadioPublic apps with Paid Listens