Cover art for podcast City Ballet The Podcast

City Ballet The Podcast

43 EpisodesProduced by New York City BalletWebsite

Welcome to City Ballet The Podcast, an exploration of New York City Ballet where we'll journey through our history, delve into our new and existing repertory, and reveal insider tidbits.Each season of City Ballet The Podcast features episodes that span three topics: New Combinations hosted by Associ… read more


Episode 33: Hear the Dance: The Steadfast Tin Soldier

Host Silas Farley is back with another Hear the Dance episode, devoted to the creation of George Balanchine’s tale of toy romance, The Steadfast Tin Soldier. Farley is joined by former Principal Dancers Patricia McBride and Peter Schaufuss, on whom the ballet was created. The Steadfast Tin Soldier was the first ballet Balanchine made on Schaufuss, who danced with the Company for just three short but very formative years; this marked the second ballet for which Mr. B cast McBride as a doll, following 1974’s Coppélia, and she highlights here the differences in performing the two roles. Reunited for the first time after more than 40 years, the pair's recollections of the ballet's 1975 premiere in Saratoga Springs are as fresh as if it were yesterday. (1:06:28)

Reading List for The Steadfast Tin Soldier:
My Theatre Life by August Bournonville and Patricia McAndrew
Letters on Dance and Choreography by August Bournonville and Knud Arne Jurgensen
My Dearly Beloved Wife!—Letters from France and Italy, 1841 by August Bournonville, Knud Arne Jurgensen, et al
The Fairy Tale of My Life: An Autobiography by Hans Christian Andersen
Fairy Tales (Penguin Classics Edition) by Hans Christian Andersen
Hans Christian Andersen: The Life of a Storyteller by Jackie Wullschlager
Dance in Saratoga Springs by Denise Warner Limoli
Balanchine’s Ballerinas: Conversations with the Muses by Robert Tracy
Dancing Across the Atlantic: USA-Denmark, 1900-2014 by Erik Aschengreen

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major (1931) by Igor Stravinsky
Jeux d'Enfants, Opp. 22-26, nos. 6, 3, 11, 12 (1871) by Georges Bizet
Overture and Incidental Music to A Midsummer Night's Dream, opp. 61 (1842) by Felix Mendelssohn

Educational emoji reaction


Interesting emoji reaction


Funny emoji reaction


Agree emoji reaction


Love emoji reaction


Wow emoji reaction


Are you the creator of this podcast?

Verify your account

and pick the featured episodes for your show.

Listen to City Ballet The Podcast


A free podcast app for iPhone and Android

  • User-created playlists and collections
  • Download episodes while on WiFi to listen without using mobile data
  • Stream podcast episodes without waiting for a download
  • Queue episodes to create a personal continuous playlist
RadioPublic on iOS and Android
Or by RSS
RSS feed

Connect with listeners

Podcasters use the RadioPublic listener relationship platform to build lasting connections with fans

Yes, let's begin connecting
Browser window

Find new listeners

  • A dedicated website for your podcast
  • Web embed players designed to convert visitors to listeners in the RadioPublic apps for iPhone and Android
Clicking mouse cursor

Understand your audience

  • Capture listener activity with affinity scores
  • Measure your promotional campaigns and integrate with Google and Facebook analytics
Graph of increasing value

Engage your fanbase

  • Deliver timely Calls To Action, including email acquistion for your mailing list
  • Share exactly the right moment in an episode via text, email, and social media
Icon of cellphone with money

Make money

  • Tip and transfer funds directly to podcastsers
  • Earn money for qualified plays in the RadioPublic apps with Paid Listens